I love wristwatches – Seiko SNZF21

Seiko Sea Urchin 01

The Seiko SNZF21 is basically the same watch as the Seiko “Sea Urchin” (reviewed here: https://watchesandwomen.wordpress.com/2017/04/15/i-love-wristwatches-seiko-snzf17-sea-urchin/). The only difference is that this watch has a black case and a black bezel insert instead of the stainless steel look (the bezel insert itself is the same as the Sea Urchin). This one could therefore be nicknamed “The Seiko Black Urchin”.

The watch came with a black metal bracelet, which I have never worn. Instead, I like to wear it on different nato and zulu straps. Most often I wear it on a black zulu strap, which gives it a cool “black ops”-look. On this particular occation I had it on a denim strap.

It’s a great watch for a small amount of money. It has a decent water resistance (I’ve had it in the pool), it keeps good time and has a very good lume. It uses a 7S36 caliber self-winding mechanical movement that cannot be manually wound or hacked (the second hand does not stop when the crown is pulled out). It ticks 6 times per second, which gives the second hand a smoother movement than quartz watches (which tick once per second). The watch should run for up to 43 hours when fully wound and will self-wind when moved.

Seiko Sea Urchin 02

2 thoughts on “I love wristwatches – Seiko SNZF21

Leave a comment